Monday, July 6, 2009

St. Catherine Cathedral

Known as Sint-Catharinakathedraal and Catharijnekerk, the St. Catherine Cathedral in Utrecht, The Netherlands, was once Roman Catholic, then Protestant, and is now Catholic again, serving as the seat of the Archbishopric of Utrecht since 1853. Yet during the Protestant phase, which lasted from 1580-1815, when the Roman Catholic Church regained control of the church, it became the final resting for at least two notable painters of the Dutch Golden Age, particularly of the Dutch Caravaggisti, as well as four major Protestant theologians, all of the Voetian school. Of the latter group, it may be said that their remains are surrounded by Popish trappings, even as their literary corpus and spiritual legacy continue to testify against the present-day guardians of the cathedral.

Painters buried at St. Catherine Cathedral

Abraham Bloemaert (1566-1651)
Gerard (Gerrit) van Honthorst (1592-1656)

Theologians buried at St. Catherine Cathedral

Gisbertus Voetius (1589-1676)
Petrus Van Mastricht (1630-1706)
Jacobus Koelman (1632-1695)
Gerard De Vries (1648-1705)

No comments:

Post a Comment